Mini Project 2 – Reflective analysis

For the flash mini project I created a number of short animations and made music for the animations, I wanted the music to compliment the animation because I didn’t see the point in trying to mix sound and images together that didn’t mix well. As I come from a musical background I actually wrote the music first as I wasn’t really sure what to do with the animations and was uncomfortable with using Adobe Flash.

I didn’t think the quality of the work was up to a good standard, the work was fun to make and a good starter point for learning, but it wasn’t something I would be happy to show off as my work. I think it was messy in that there were keyframes that I accidently unknowingly deleted and didn’t recognize until later and didn’t amend those mistakes, this made the timeline and the keyframes very hard to work with as I became confused with what was going on as parts of the animations kept on appearing where they shouldn’t be. This was also due to my lack of understanding of how Flash works though.

One thing I did find useful for this project was that it allowed me to explore using ‘cutout’ images. With the monkey animation I used real images for the animation which is similar to the style of animators such as Terry Gilliam from Monty Python (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QYgqdaI-NRg). This is useful for me because it something I would like to experiment with more.

In the future I would like to explore making animations to music but I would prefer not to use Flash as it gives me a headache.

Leave a Reply

